Pharmacy Department


  1. Pharmacy Department
  • Department of Pharmacy was established in 2010 under the College of Medicine and Health Sciences with the intention of producing pharmacists to manage the nation’s pharmaceutical and healthcare needs. The department began its journey in 2010 with faculty members who had earned a bachelor’s degree. It has since been organised into four units, through which it now provides all of the professional Pharmacy courses. They are the Pharmaceutics and Social Pharmacy Unit, Pharmacognosy and Pharmaceutical Chemistry Unit, Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice Unit, and Pharmacology and Toxicology Unit. The department’s staff profile includes 4 PhDs, 6 assistant professors, 14 lecturers, 5 assistant lecturers, and 1 senior technical assistant. Enrolment and graduation rates for students: So far, the department has graduated more than 483 pharmacists. 189 students are enrolled in the pharmacy regular programme at the moment, and 40 are enrolled in the summer pharmacy programme. In 2023ÔÇô2024, the department intended to add its first MSc. Programme in Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Analysis, and Medicinal Chemistry to its undergraduate programmes.